Posts

Budtender Spotlight: Corry

Name: Corry

From: Seattle originally, but he’s lived in Vancouver since he was 9 years old.

“I consider myself from Seattle. I like it here though. The people are super nice, and there are nice places around here to hike and camp, too.”

Weed history: “I started smoking with my best friends when I was 15, and I remember learning to hide it from my mom. My friend got a job here at The Herbery and told me how awesome it was – so I got out of the restaurant industry, applied here and got the job!”

Favorite strains: “I love love love Pineapple Express from Nettles. It gets me drawing. I’m a huge artist so I love it.”

He loves sativas in general. “Indicas kind of knock me out.”

He also likes Orange Cream Panda Candies.

“They taste the best,” Corry said.

Customer support: “My favorites are the first timers. They’re afraid of being embarrassed. I can get them hooked up. I also love older couples coming back to it. I just love the excitement of first timers and people who don’t have a lot of experience with it.”

Weirdest thing about you: “If I hear an accent I can’t help but copy it. There’s a cat boarding place next door and the owner has a thick English accent, and I keep picking it up. It’s embarrassing but it’s also funny.”

Where do you want to be in five years: “I see myself traveling, like a nomadic world traveler,” said the 26-year-old. “I’ve been wanting to do that for a while. First place I want to go is Thailand. There’s just something about the art and food there, I think it would be really cool.”

Video Introduction:

Budtender Spotlight: David

Name: David

From: Logan, Ohio.

At age 19, David’s father passed away and his mother moved to Vancouver, where he soon followed.

“I had so much stuff in my life and marijuana was the only thing that was really helping me, so I came here for a change of pace and because of legalization,” David said. “I’ve been here for six years and I love it. It’s beautiful, very progressive, and a lot different than rural Ohio.”

Weed history: “I was an athlete in high school and I played three sports,” David said. “I probably smoked five or ten times in high school, but usually I was mixing it with alcohol. The first time I really started buying it on my own was in my second year of college – because my roommate was a big pothead.”

He used cannabis as a social tool in college, he said.

“If you have a blunt on campus it can be just a great conversation starter,” he said with a grin.

Favorite strains: David’s favorite overall strain is Dutch Treat from Doc & Yeti.

“It’s a very potent hybrid that keeps me satisfied but not sedated,” David said. “The way it looks, it’s just covered in kief. It’s the most beautiful flower I’ve ever seen. The taste is immaculate – pungent floral. It’s just delicious.”

He also likes ADAK from Nettles Unlimited when he’s looking for a creative vibe.

“That stuff’s like rocket fuel,” David said. “I’m a creative media major (at WSU-V) now and I sometimes use it late at night when I’m working.”

He also likes Cascadia Gardens for its consistent quality and Gimme Samores from Honu is his favorite edible.

Customer support: “I consider myself someone that can sell to anyone,” David said. “I’ve been here at The Herbery for two years now. I feel comfortable selling to anyone. I love to help people who are coming in for the first time especially – I like to make them feel welcome and give them the rundown.”

Weirdest thing about you: “If I go to sleep I like to sleep even hours,” David said. “If I’ll get an odd hour of sleep, I’ll wait up until it gets to an even number of hours. It seems to work best for me – I actually have a bunch of energy.”

Where do you want to be in five years: “I want to be somewhere on a marketing team for the marijuana industry,” David said. “That’s what I’m studying for.”

Video Introduction:

Budtender Spotlight: Christian

Name: Christian

Christian2

From: San Diego, California

“My dad’s job brought me here. He’s a construction guy, so he moves to different states a lot, and I’ve gone with him. But we’ve actually been here in Vancouver for about 10 years now.”

Weed history: “I started smoking when I was 15 and I’ve been doing it ever since. I like the way it makes me feel. It relaxes me. I also play a lot of sports, and the I love the CBD strains after that. They’re a great pain killer for me.”

Favorite strains: OG Kush and Chem Dawg from Cedar Creek Cannabis, Bubba’s Gift from Phat Panda, Blue Hawaiian from Nettles. “I’m a huge indica fan in general, so if it’s a hybrid that leans indica or a pure indica, that’s my kind of bud.”

Customer support: “I like the elderly couples the most,” he said. “Elderly people in general, even when I was a baby I was always reaching out for my oldest relative. I’m not sure why. I just really connect well with older people and I always have, much more so than with people my own age (he’s 23). And I love folks who come in looking for new information about weed. I love helping them.”

Weirdest thing about you: “I play video games competitively. Call of Duty, FIFA – well, mostly the Call of Duty series. I’ve been playing competitively since I was about 15. The most I’ve won so far is $850 from a tournament. It’s a little harder to compete now that I work full time, but on weekends and in my free time, that’s usually what I’m doing.”

Where do you want to be in five years: “I want to be on the medical side of this industry. I want to help people with recommendations and research so they can find products that really help them. I love doing that sort of research.”

Video Introduction:

Budtender Spotlight: Matt Bleuel

Name: Matt Bleuel

Matt

From: Louisville, Kentucky

“I wanted to come out here to the Pacific Northwest, so my wife and I threw the dogs in the Jeep and prayed we could get jobs,” Bleuel said. “That was two months ago, and I’m so happy now. I love it here. Best decision I ever made, outside of marrying my wife, of course.”

Weed history: “I’ve smoked it since I was about 16. In Kentucky you basically just have ‘good weed’ and ‘bad weed’ – so I’ve had to learn a lot since coming here. I know so much more now, but I’m still always doing research.”

Favorite strains: Most sativas. In particular he likes Golden Pineapple from Phat Panda, Bear OG from Cascadia Gardens and Adak from Nettles (“It’s the kief-iest sativa I’ve ever smoked.”)

Customer support: “My favorite customers now are other transplants to the area, just because we can unite in the ‘how cool is this’ factor. But really I like all customers. We’re all potheads in the end, and that’s great.”

Weirdest thing about you: “I’ve traveled through all 48 contiguous states. My dad was an over the road truck driver while I was growing up, and so I got to go with him and see a lot of the country. And for me? Oregon and Washington were always my favorites. Politically, spiritually, it’s just more aligned with me.”

Where do you want to be in five years: “Five years from now I hope I’m still at The Herbery. I love it. If I can keep doing what I’m doing now, I’ll be so happy.”

Video Introduction: